Ulcerative Colitis

AbGn-168H Neihulizumab

Trial

Therapeutics

AbGn-168H

Disease Population

Ulcerative colitis is most common in North America and Western Europe; however the prevalence is increasing in other regions. In North America, ulcerative colitis affects approximately 40 to 240 in 100,000 people. It is estimated that more than 750,000 North Americans are affected by this disorder. Ulcerative colitis is more common in whites and people of eastern and central European (Ashkenazi) Jewish descent than among people of other ethnic backgrounds[1].
In the U.S., 818,568 persons have ulcerative colitis. Of those patients, 34,216 have unmet medical needs[2].
Trial Description
A proof-of-principle study to test the efficacy and safety of Neihulizumab in patients with moderate to severe active ulcerative colitis and who have failed or are intolerant to anti-TNFα and/or anti-integrin therapy
Trial Center
United States, AK Lynn Institute of the Ozarks
  • Little Rock, Arkansas, United States, 72205
  • Aeiress Duhart
  • aduhart@lhsi.net
Newport Beach, CA Stomach Doctor - Surinder Saini, MD
  • Newport Beach, California, United States, 92660
  • Carlos Valdes
  • 310-780-2155
  • carlosvaldes@macksresearch.com
Hialeah, FL Wellness Clinical Research (WCR)
  • Hialeah, Florida, United States, 33016-2202
  • Vanessa Amarales
  • 786-483-7856
  • vanessa@wellnessclinicalresearch.com
Lake Wales, FL Wellness Clinical Research (WCR)
  • Lake Wales, Florida, United States, 33853
  • Julissa Hicks
  • 863-213-6331
  • julissa.hicks@wellnessclinicalresearch.com
Chicago, IL Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
  • Chicago, Illinois, United States, 60611
  • Rose Arrieta
  • 312-695-5878
  • rarrieta@northwestern.edu
Chicago, IL University of Chicago
  • Chicago, Illinois, United States, 60637
  • Audrone Meiliulyte
  • 773-834-8709
  • ameiliulyte@medicine.bsd.uchicago.edu
Rockville, MD Capitol Research
  • Rockville, Maryland, United States, 20850
  • Erin Klepeis
  • 240-426-7392
  • eklepeis@capitol-research.com
New York, NY Weill Cornell Medical College
  • New York, New York, United States, 10021
  • Fatiha Chabouni
  • 212-746-5109
  • fac2005@med.cornell.edu
Rochester, NY University of Rochester Medical Center
  • Rochester, New York, United States, 14642
  • Miley Lott
  • Miley_Lott@URMC.Rochester.edu
Houston, TX Baylor College of Medicine
  • Houston, Texas, United States, 77030
  • Guillermina Cruz
  • 713-798-8220
  • Guillermina.Cruz@bcm.edu
Seattle, WA University of Washington Medical Center (UWMC)
  • Seattle, Washington, United States, 98195
  • Elisa Beebe
  • 206-797-3126
  • EBeebe@medicine.washington.edu
Vega Baja, PR Wellness Clinical Research (WCR)
  • Vega Baja, Puerto Rico, 00694
  • Idaly Russe
  • (844) 845-5252
  • idaly.russe@wellnessclincalresearch.com
About Ulcerative Colitis
Ulcerative colitis (UC) is an inflammatory bowel disease (IBD) that causes long-lasting inflammation and ulcers in the innermost lining of the colon and rectum.

Typically, UC occurs when there is a combination of inflammation and ulceration leading to symptoms of abdominal pain, diarrhea and rectal bleeding.

The treatment options for UC are medications and surgery. However, surgery is reserved for those with severe inflammation and life-threatening complications, as it usually involves removing the entire colon and the rectum. So far, there is no medication that can cure ulcerative colitis. Patients with ulcerative colitis will typically experience periods of relapse followed by periods of remission lasting months to years.
Citations
1. Genetics home reference. Ulcerative colitis. NIH. Available at
2. IQVIA U.S. market survey with data to 2016
Details about AbGenomics Clinical Trial can be found at ClinicalTrials.gov